Blog

My most anticipated releases of 2021 // April, May & June

Helloooo and howdy!!

As it currently stands I have not yet read any of the books that I featured on my list of anticipated releases for January, February & March but is that going to stop me from talking about more upcoming releases?

I’m actually really excited about the next three months worth of releases. There’s a lot more on here then originally expected, I kind of blanked on a few release dates and didn’t realise they were right around the corner. If I tried I could probably include a few more to be honest.


April

In Deep Waters by F.T Lukens

I’ve recently realised that I’ve never read a book about pirates. This is a crime! I plan to amend this as soon as possible, starting with reading In Deep Waters which follows a young prince who must rely on on a mysterious stranger when he’s kidnapped.

This seems to me like it’s going to be the perfect historical adventure novel with a possible LGBT+ romance at the helm.

I’m trying to not buy many physical books as I’m moving later on in the year but I may have to make an exception for THIS cover!!!

Release Date: April 20th


She Drives me Crazy by Kelly Quindlan

I didn’t need to know a concrete synopsis for this one. I saw the cover and immediately added it to my TBR because jock girlfriend + cheerleader girlfriend is exactly what I need in my life.

Another selling point for me is that it’s said to be perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Casey McQuiston so that gives me a lot of hope for this one too.

Release Date: April 20th


May

Blade of Secretes by Tricia Levenseller

I’m not usually one to get excited about high fantasy novels when they’re first released. I normally wait it out and see what the common consensus is because high fantasy scares me but I’ve decided Blade of Secrets is the exception to this rule.

The tag line that one me over? A teenage blacksmith with social anxiety accepts a commission from the wrong person and is forced to go on the run to protect the world from the most powerful magical sword she’s ever made.

Release Date: May 4th


The One’s We’re Meant to Find by Joan He

I’m not totally clear on the synopsis for this book but I’m hoping to read it this month because I actually have an ARC of it.

Without looking too much into the plot (because with this book I’m okay not knowing much beforehand), it seems to be about sisters, one of whom has been trapped on an island. I’m really not clearing anything up for me or you but that’s fine.

This falling into the genres of: science-fiction, fantasy, mystery and thriller, I’m very curious and excited.

Release Date: May 4th


Heartstopper Volume 4 by Alice Oseman

Cuteness overload already!!! Look at them in their big snuggy coats hugging each other 😭😭

I totally lost track with the comic that’s updated various times throughout the month so I’m oficially sticking with the graphic novels. This story in general de-stresses me so much. They’re my go to when I’m anxious and need a break from reality.

That being said … this story is starting to stress me out too. We’re beginning to get into some not so cute plot points (TW: eating disorders, self harm). I just want these boys to be happy!

Release Date: May 13th


Mister Impossible by Maggie Stiefvater

I’m holding out hope for an alternative UK cover like what the first book had because the cover they have now is not it sis. I wouldn’t be mad if they gave it an alternative title too. Mister Impossible😂😭

Despite the cringey title, I am really excited for this sequel. I have a checklist of things I’m hoping for:

  • Ronan + Henessey being crazy dreamer friends.
  • Lynch brothers being happy and safe. I also want more of Matthews emo “I’m a dream object” crisis because I think it’s funny and more of Declan + Jordan.
  • Adam. I miss him.
  • Cameo from the OG gang wouldn’t go a miss either. Even if it’s just through text messages again.

Release Date: May 18th


Not My Problem by Ciara Smyth

Ciara Smyth’s debut novel The Falling in Love Montage was one of my favourites from last year and so of course I’m dying to get my hands on her sophomore novel.

Once again this is a queer romance novel which I’m guessing is set in Ireland like her last book. It follows a girl called Aideen who has a lot of problems she can’t fix: growing apart from her best friend, her mothers drinking problem, the fact that she’s running out of excuses to get out of P.E. So when she accidently helps her arch nemesis solve her ongoing crisis by pushing her down the stairs, she ends up becoming the schools unofficial problem solver.

Release Date: May 25th


June

One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston

AGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’ve been waiting for this book for years and I’m so excited it’s finally time. Well … two months and then it’s time but STILL.

Some people already have ARCs of this, I’ve seen it all over my Goodreads and let me tell you I am so incredibly jealous.

This is a F/F new adult romance, set in New York and has time-travel elements – I believe one of the characters is misplaced in time or something along those lines. I’m cool not knowing much abut it. I have high expectations but I truly believe McQuiston will met them. I can’t wait to read more of her witty and addictive writing.

Release Date: June 1st


Afterlove by Tanya Byrne

Another F/F romance!! This is something I’ve wanted for a long time now, for F/F stories to be just as hyped and popular as M/M.

It was the cover that originally drew me to this book but the synopsis is what has me excited. This follows Ash who dies in a car accident. Now in the afterlife she receives an invite to join a badass group of girls reapers who take the souls of the city’s dead to their. If that doesn’t sound cool enough, Ash can’t forget her first love, Poppy, and will do anything to be with her again, even just for a couple of days.

Release Date: June 10th


Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

Gossip Girl meets Get Out. What a combination!! It’s also the only type of description I need to know that I’m interested in reading this as soon as possible.

This is a black, queer, dark academia novel. I’m desperate to enjoy more Dark Academia books, I’m still in the process of figuring out what I like and what I don’t like from that genre. I have my fingers crossed this proves to be one I really enjoy!

Release Date: June 10th

Theres wayyyy too many books on this list and I probably wont’ have read any of them by the time I do the next round of “my anticipated 2021 releases”.

Listen. Just because I’m a book nerd, with a book blog, doesn’t mean I read the books I talk about no matter how much I want to.

Thanks so much for reading :))

Elli xx

3 thoughts on “My most anticipated releases of 2021 // April, May & June”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s