Uncategorised

If you like that, you might like this …

Hello and howdy 🀠

I come to you today with a recommendation post I’ve wanted to do for ages but just forget that I’ve started until I find it buried in my drafts and by that point, I’ve lost the drift of what I was trying to say.

I love watching “If you like that, you might like this” videos on Youtube so I’m excited to be able to do my own :))


If you like “Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco”, you might like “Belladonna by Adalyn Grace”

I read Belladonna by Adalyn Grace recently and immediately got Kingdom of the Wicked vibes. Both stories are set in a historical time period and follow a girl with powers they don’t really know how to use who, while trying to solve a murder, become involved with a powerful and broody man. In Kingdom of the Wicked that’s the Wrath, the demon prince, and in Belladonna it’s Death. Like literally Death.

In my notes I said that I liked Belladonna more but that might just be recency bias on my part. Either way both of these books were a fun time, I really liked the historical setting and the mysteries both kept me intrigued.


If you like “All For the Game by Nora Sakovic”, you might like “The Girl’s I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe”

Obviously there’s a big difference in the plots of these two books, All For the Game by Nora Sakavic has a big focus on college sports and the Yakuza with a larger cast while The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe follows Nora and her three friends being held captive during a bank robbery. My reason for grouping these two together is because of Neil and Nora – the secrets, the sass, the survival instincts and the childhood trauma stemming from criminal parents. These characters are so alike!

Paired with the queer romance and found family aspects I really do think that if you like this trilogy, specifically the third book The Kings Men, you’ll really like The Girl’s I’ve Been.


If you liked “Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston”, you might like “If This Get’s Out by Cale Dietrich & Sophie Gonzales”

I had two books I could recommend alongside If This Get’s Out by Sophie Gonzales & Cale Dietrich but I ultimarely decided on Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston because I think they have the most similair plot points.

Both of these books focus on two famous people getting together and hiding it from the public alongside a character realising and coming to terms with their bisexuality. If This Get’s Out is a YA compared to Red, White & Royal Blue being New Adult but still the romance’s had the same vibes (and same levels of healthy communication). I really liked both of these books and I felt that same “can’t put it down” addictiveness while reading.


If you like “Beach Read by Emily Henry”, you might like “How to Fake it in Hollywood by Ava Wilder”

Both of these books I read this month so I think I have the unique experience of reading and loving them both within the same week or so. Beach Read by Emily Henry is one of the most hyped romance books of the last couple of years while How to Fake it In Hollywood by Ava Wilder is a new release so I take it as my responsibility to shine the light on somethign similair.

I think these work well together becasue they’re both more then just a romance. The characters go through so many ups and downs both in their personal live’s and their love life. There’s also that initial “dislike”, I guess you could call it. January and Gus being college rivals, Gray and Ethan being two famous people set up to fake-date but getting off the wrong foot.


If you like “Stanger Things”, you might like “House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland”

Stranger Things has become a recent new obsession. I only started watching because Season 4 looked cool and now I’m hooked, so imagine my surprise when I picked up House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland and saw big-time similarities.

House of Hollow follows three sisters who disappeared for a month as kids and now, ten years later, are re-living that when their eldest sister disappears again. Me saying this reminds me to Stranger Things comes from the fact that it’s got that “other realm” aspect. The Upside Down and The Halfway Point, both of which is hard to escape, births monsters and haunts the main characters. It’s also got that strong bon between the characters. They also both have such destinctive aesthetics which I think is just as important: 80’s American retro and mystical british spooky flowers. Go check out House of Hollows if you haven’t already!

I had a lot of fun writing this post. Please don’t take a shot every time i say the words “similarities” or “comparison”. Don’t do that to yourself.

I’d love to know if you’ve read any of these books and see my vision. Or if I’ve convinced you to check out any of these that you haven’t read. Thanks for reading :))

Elli xx

4 thoughts on “If you like that, you might like this …”

  1. House of Hollows looks really cool, I have also become obsessed with Stranger Things after the release of Season 4. I haven’t read any of the other books, but Red, White and Royal Blue is on my tbr and I hope to get to it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. House of Hollow lived up to the expectations I’d put on it. I did not think it was gonna give Stranger Things vibes when I picked it up but the similarities are definitelu there. Hope you enjoy RWRB whenever you pick it up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s